F*ck bloggers

Since starting this blog and pressing ‘publish’ on that very first post, I have always wondered am I a blogger? It is a question that means little to anyone but me, but what really is a blogger? The term holds so many high fluting, fiddly-idle-dee notions, but what does it actually mean? I enjoy writing about stuff. I do it all the time. I have a blog. I have an Instagram account. They’re linked. So that must mean that I’m a blogger… right?

I have always had these ideas of perfection when it came to blogging. I always thought I needed to write the perfect article and have the perfect picture to go along with it, but is it really all that glamorous?

Fashion bloggers are writing about the clothes in their wardrobe. Fitness bloggers are confident enough to write about their physiques, but not show them. Lifestyle bloggers seem to be writing their weekly to do lists like an essay, rather than bullet points. Food bloggers and their healthy food recipes. Mommy bloggers and their babies. Sports bloggers and their favourite teams. We have seen it all before. And I hold my hands up, I have done it too… because isn’t that what good bloggers do?

I hate blogs because they are boring. And if I wanted to be bored, I would probably go do all the things that I’m actually meant to be doing, instead of sitting here scrolling through your dull diary entry, or letter for your family and friends to read.

When I find a blog, I want to be told something interesting. I want to laugh. I want to be impressed. I want to learn something new. I want something different and adventurous. I want to be made think. My time is more valuable to me than anything else so please don’t waste it ffs.

I recently had a conversation with a friend about “famous” bloggers/ vloggers/ newsfeed cloggers/ social media influencers, and we both came to the conclusion that the majority of successful (insert word of choice) are either very good looking, in great shape, or live insanely active lifestyles. Think about it. When was the last time you saw a (insert word of choice) who wasn’t the most photogenic person that you had ever laid eyes on!

I’m not against this, I mean, if you have it, flaunt it. But if this is the case, is blogging really something to be proud of?

I’m a budding journalist, and I have a masters degree in journalism. I’m all for people sharing their unique stories. I love a good read. Reading and writing are my bread and butter, and I love a challenge. I love sinking my teeth into an article or post, and not fully knowing where it is bringing me. When I don’t fully understand something, or something doesn’t seem right, that’s when I’m at my best. I want to know more, and I will search and search until I find it but I need that butterfly in my stomach to get me started, that spark, that one blog post…

Unfortunately, at the minute, most blogs are going in the same direction. It is about getting “famous”. It is about making money. It is about the clicks, the hits, the comments. It is about that buzz, and I appreciate that, but what happens when the noise stops? And all you’re left with is this – another crappy blog post!

Leave a comment